• Home
  • Articles
  • Field Hockey Rules Committee Welcomes New Members

Field Hockey Rules Committee Welcomes New Members

By nfhs on January 05, 2022 field hockey article Print

NFHS rules writing committees consist of experts in the given sport.  Each committee member is nominated by state associations, as is the chairperson, who guides the members through their work.  Each of the NFHS’s eight sections are represented on the given rules committee.  To allow for equal representation, there is also a member of the NFHS Coaches Association and the NFHS Officials Association on each rules committee.  Each committee member serves a four-year term.

The NFHS is pleased to welcome three new members of the Field Hockey Rules Committee: Dorinda Toney, Taylor Rountree, and Mary Nadeau.

Dorinda Toney, Section 2, is originally from Lancaster County, PA where she developed her love for field hockey in the 8th grade. Dorinda went on to play in college at West Chester University and shortly after college began playing club field hockey. It was soon after this, she shifted her focus to umpiring, locally, nationally, and internationally. Dorinda has served on her local high school board in Delaware for many years and is currently on the Delaware Tournament Committee. Dorinda continues to give back to her love of the sport of field hockey by umpiring and is the umpire assignor for her board.   Dorinda resides in Delaware with her husband, two daughters, and two big dogs and a cat.  Dorinda loves to spend time at the beach in her spare time and supporting her husband’s football team where he coaches at her Alma Mater, West Chester University.

Taylor Rountree, Coaches Association, has coached in the Virginia Beach/Hampton Roads area for the last decade.  She is the current Varsity field hockey coach at Cox high school who just recently won their 23rd Virginia state title.  In addition to coaching at the Varsity and middle school level, Taylor coaches for FOCUS Field Hockey Club and is a US Field Hockey Futures coach for Region 8.  She was lucky enough to play at the collegiate level and learn from some of the best players and coaches in the world.  Since transitioning from playing to coaching, Taylor has had the incredible honor of helping grow the game of field hockey in this area and in the nation. In addition to coaching, she is a special education teacher at Cox High School and is married with 2 incredible teenage daughters. 

Mary Nadeau, Section 1, has worked at Nokomis Regional High in Newport, Maine as a teacher and administrator for the past 30 years.  During that time, she has worked as a Business Education teacher, an Academic Support teacher, the Director of Guidance, Assistant Principal, and currently serves as Principal of Nokomis Regional High. Mary has been involved in a wide variety of extra-curricular activities and athletics throughout her 25 year + tenure in education.  Currently, Mary serves on the Executive Board of Directors for the Maine Principals’ Association and Skills Incorporated, and is a member of the Kennebec Consortium for School Administrators.

In 2017, Mary was named as the State Champion for Maine by the New England Secondary School Consortium and the Maine Agency of Education. In 2007, Mary was named the Maine Principals’ Association, Assistant Principal of the Year. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration from Husson (College) University and a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Maine and resides in Corinna, Maine. 

Mary and Dorinda will serve until 2025, while Taylor's term will conclude in 2024 as she was selected the prior year. We are excited to welcome these new members.

The Field Hockey Rules Meeting will take place January 17-19, 2022 in Indianapolis, IN.