Fall Sports Status Update

By NFHS on August 04, 2020 nfhs news Print

The NFHS is tracking the status of high school sports as fall seasons approach. Because of the pandemic, several states have delayed the start of the fall sports season or altered the sports seasons.

As of August 4, the following state associations have delayed or altered the Fall season.

Arizona (Golf – Aug. 24; Badminton – Aug. 31; All other fall sports – week of Sept. 7)

California (December 2020 or January 2021)

Colorado (Boys Golf – August 3; Boys Tennis – August 10; Cross Country – August 12; Football – February 22; Field Hockey, Gymnastics, Boys Soccer, Unified Bowling and Girls Volleyball – March 1)

Connecticut (August 17)

District of Columbia (January 4)

Florida (August 24)

Illinois (Boys/Girls Golf, Girls Tennis, Boys/Girls Cross Country, and Girls Swimming and Diving – August 10; Boys Soccer, Football and Girls Volleyball – Spring 2021)

Iowa (The IHSAA announced a revised seven-week regular season football schedule running from August 28 through October 9.)

Hawaii (August 19)

Georgia (The Georgia High School Association postponed the start of football season until September 4.)

Kentucky (August 24; The golf season schedule is unchanged.)

Maine (September 8)

Maryland (Fall and winter competition seasons postponed during the first semester)

Massachusetts (September 14)

Minnesota (Cross Country, Tennis, Soccer, and Swimming and Diving – August 17; Football and Volleyball – Spring 2021)

Mississippi (August 10; Football starts August 17)

Nevada (Winter sports January 2; Fall sports February 20; Spring sports April 3)

New Hampshire (September 8)

New Jersey (September 14)

New Mexico  (The NMAA, through Governor recommendations, canceled contact sports competition for the fall. As a result, the 2020 football and soccer seasons have been switched to the spring semester.)

New York (Not before September 21)

North Carolina (September 1)

Oregon (August 17; Football prohibited until further notice)

Pennsylvania (The PIAA has offered flexibility to schools, leagues, and/or conferences with three different start dates; August 20 (regular start) to September 14 (alternate start) and no later than October 5.) 

South Carolina (August 17)

Texas (August 3 for conferences 1A-4A football and volleyball; conferences 5A-6A start September 7)


Virginia (December 14)

Washington (September 7)

West Virginia (August 17)

Wisconsin (Girls golf, girls tennis, girls swimming and diving, and boys and girls cross country August 17; Football, boys soccer, boys and girls volleyball September 7)


The following states will not play football this fall.



District of Columbia





New Mexico