Volleyball Rules Interpretations - 2018-19

By NFHS on August 06, 2018 volleyball Print

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Dr. Karissa L. Niehoff, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2018

RULES BOOK CORRECTIONS: (Underlining shows additions; strikethrough shows deletions.)

Page 33, 8-1-6: (Signal 314); Page 33, 8-2-6d: (Signal 314); Page 65, NFHS Official Volleyball Signals 20A: Official’s right hand should be indicating the Team Time-out.

POWERPOINT CORRECTIONS: Slide #19, PlayPic A: remove shadow arm; Slide #33, 3-21-6.

SITUATION 1: Team R is playing with five players due to injuries. The vacant position is in center back. The players in right back and left back switch positions before serve to put their stronger passer in left back to receive serve. The second referee signals illegal alignment. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: The vacant position still holds the alignment rules for the position as it rotates. The right back and left back cannot break alignment of the vacant center back position. (6-4-3b, 6-4-5 NOTE)

SITUATION 2: A player on Team A is severely injured during play. The officials stop play with an official’s timeout. The coach of Team A requests a substitution for the injured player at the end of the 30 seconds, but the injured player is unable to move. After 20 minutes of stoppage time, the player is removed from the court and the officials allow the substitution and resume play with a replay. As the teams take their positions on the court, (a) Team A requests a lineup check; (b) Team B requests a lineup check. Both requests are granted by the second referee. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: The second referee may grant a lineup check to assist the teams in the restart of the set after a long stoppage due to an injury or illness. (9-8-2 EXCEPTION, 11-4-1)

SITUATION 3: On a dead ball, Team S requests a substitution (No. 4 for No. 8). The second referee recognizes the substitution with a whistle and signal. No. 4 is not ready to enter the set and significantly delays the completion of the substitution. The second referee signals unnecessary delay (administrative yellow for first offense), then allows the substitution to be completed. RULING: Incorrect procedure. COMMENT: Once an unnecessary delay is called during a substitution, the substitution is denied and no further substitutions may be requested by the team at fault until after the next completed rally. [10-2-7b(1), 10-2 PENALTIES 2]

SITUATION 4: Team R’s coach requests a substitution and the second referee recognizes the request with a whistle and signal. The substitute is still on the bench removing warm-up shirt and tying shoes when the outgoing player and second referee are ready to complete the substitution. In an attempt to avoid a delay, Team R’s coach withdraws the substitution. An unnecessary delay is charged to Team R. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: Once a substitution is requested and recognized by the second referee, it cannot be withdrawn. The unnecessary delay is assessed to Team R. No substitutions may take place after the delay is assessed. [10-2-7a(2), 10-2-7b(1), 10-2 PENALTIES 2]