Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2018-19

By NFHS on October 10, 2018 basketball Print

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Dr. Karissa L. Niehoff, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2018

SITUATION 1: A1 is dribbling the ball in frontcourt near the division line when B1 taps the ball away. The ball rolls into the backcourt where A2 is standing. A2 picks up the ball while in backcourt and starts a dribble. RULING: Legal play. The ball rolling on the floor when it crosses the division line has backcourt status; therefore, either the offense or the defense can recover the ball. (9-9-1 EXCEPTION)

SITUATION 2: A1 is straddling the division line when the ball is deflected by B1 into the backcourt. A1 is able to reach out and take possession of the ball while still straddling the division line. RULING: Legal. A1 is in the backcourt and maintains that status when she takes possession of the deflected ball. Because A1 is in the backcourt, the official must start a 10-second count and maintain the count as long as the player is in the backcourt and in possession of the ball. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 3: A1 throws a ball from the sideline, near the division line. A2 catches the ball while straddling the division line, fumbles the ball into the frontcourt and recovers the ball with one foot still in the backcourt. RULING: Violation by A2. While in player and team control in backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt. (4-21, 9-9-2)

SITUATION 4: Players scramble for the ball with A1 touching the ball and the boundary line. RULING: A1 has created a violation by touching the boundary line and the ball at the same time, causing the ball to be out-ofbounds. Team B shall be given the ball at the spot nearest to the violation. (7-1- 1, 7-1-2, 7-2-2, 9-3-1)

SITUATION 5: The ball is thrown from Team A’s own end line on a throw-in towards the division line. Offensive player A1 deflects the ball into the backcourt. RULING: The ball may be recovered in backcourt by the offensive team without creating a violation. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 6: A1 has tucked the bottom of his/her shorts into the tights being worn. RULING: Illegal. The referee shall not allow the player to enter the game or direct the player to leave the game until the shorts are removed from inside the tights. After making the correction, the player may re-enter the game at the appropriate time for a substitution. The uniform should be worn as the manufacturer intended it to be. (3-5-5)

SITUATION 7: Substitute A6 reports to enter the game to replace A1. A5, already in the game, is wearing a beige compression sleeve on her/his arm and leg. A6 is wearing a black headband and wristbands. RULING: A6 is not allowed to enter because the rule requires all teammates to wear the same allowable color sleeves, headbands and wristbands. No penalty is involved. A6 simply cannot participate until the color restrictions are corrected. (3-5-3)

SITUATION 8: A loose ball is on the floor and A1 dives onto the floor and secures the ball while on her/his stomach. A1 then (a) rolls over, sits up and passes the ball; (b) while on her/his stomach passes the ball to a teammate. RULING: Illegal in (a) to roll over from the stomach; (b) legal action for the ball to be passed from that position. (4-44-5b)

SITUATION 9: During warm-ups, the officials notice that some players have rolled the waistband on their shorts. What actions should be taken by the officials, if any, at this time? RULING: During the warm-up period, the referee should notify the coach of the infractions and ask that they be corrected immediately. If the corrections are not made and players attempt to enter the game with rolled waistbands, those players should not be allowed to enter the game prior to correcting the issue. If player(s) in the game have rolled waistband(s), they shall be directed to leave the game and may not re-enter until the next opportunity to substitute. No penalty is involved. The game should not be held-up to allow for the correction. (3-3-5, 3-5-5)

SITUATION 10: The ball supplied by the home team does not meet the description of a ball with a deeply-pebbled, granulated surface and does not have the NFHS Authenticating Mark applied. RULING: The referee shall make the decision on whether the ball meets the specifications to be used for the contest. The referee may select a ball that meets the specifications, even if it is one from the visiting team. (1- 12-1c)