• Home
  • Articles
  • Field Hockey Rules Committee Welcomes New Members - 2017-2018

Field Hockey Rules Committee Welcomes New Members - 2017-2018

By nfhs on November 13, 2017 field hockey article Print

NFHS rules writing committees consist of experts in the given sport.  Each committee member is nominated by state associations, as is the chairperson, who guides the members through their work.  Each of the NFHS’s eight sections are represented on the given rules committee.  To allow for equal representation, there is also a member of the NFHS Coaches Association and the NFHS Officials Association on each rules committee.  Each committee member serves a four-year term.

The NFHS is pleased to welcome two new members of the Field Hockey Rules Committee: Mary Stetson and Anne Horton.


Mary Stetson, Section 1, is a health/physical education instructor and varsity field hockey coach at Mount Abraham Union High School in Bristol, VT. She has been teaching/coaching at Mount Abraham since 1982.  Mary earned a Bachelor's Degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she was also a member of the North Carolina Field Hockey Team. Mary serves as the chair of the Vermont Principals’ Association Field Hockey Committee and President of the Vermont Field Hockey Coaches Association. 

Mary and her husband Jeff (also a teacher/coach at Mount Abraham) live in Bristol, Vermont where they raised their three children.  Outside of teaching and coaching, Mary is a certified Personal Trainer and enjoys numerous outdoor activities. Mary is honored to have this second opportunity to serve on the National Federation Field Hockey Rules Committee. 


Anne Horton, Section 2, Anne works at The Columbus Academy in Gahanna, Ohio.  She is the Assistant Athletic Director as well as a coach for field hockey and lacrosse. Up until this year, Anne had taught physical education for 32 years.  Anne previously served on the committee from 2000-2005 as the Coaches Representative. Anne is the President of the Coaches Association in Central Ohio and has served the NFHCA All American and All Academic committees.  Anne is married with a 14-year old son and two dogs.

The new members take over for Kim DeGraw-Cole (Section 1) and Angela Passafiume (Section 2).  Each of the outgoing committee members served the membership well.

The Field Hockey Rules Committee Meeting will take place January 10-12, 2018 in Indianapolis, IN.